Sightings and peaceful moments from Carole and Martin

Portsmouth this morning is a mysteriously grey and foggy place. Fog horn sounds are drifting in from the harbours and the Solent, like eerie music. Yesterday, however, was a sparkling spring day. Martin sent in some words and photos that I would like to share with you all.

‘Carole and I had a lovely walk around Milton Lock in the sunshine this morning.  Here are a few photos I took. The blackbirds were at the entrance to the reserve, right next to our car. There were lots of noisy starlings in the bushes but I couldn’t get a decent picture. The redshanks were towards the top end of the lake, there were about 40 of them in the flock stood there waiting for the tide to go out, I notice that several of them are ringed. After our walk round the reserve we went and sat by the sea lock in the sunshine for a coffee and watched a seal catching fish in the harbour, brilliant.’

Blackheaded gull Martin Roberts

A Black-headed Gull

 

Blackbird 1 Martin Roberts

Female blackbird by the car park

Redshank flock Martin Roberts

Redshank waiting for the tide

Thank you for the photos Martin. They’ve made me realise I must make time to visit Milton’s hidden seashore when I’m not in a rush and I can just pause and absorb the sights and sounds.

Leave a Reply

